Green Capital - The title

The title

The European Union initiated the European Green Capital Award Scheme in 2008.

The cities that compete for the title are scrutinised in accordance with a long list of environmental criteria. Any European city of more than 200,000 inhabitants and with an outstanding record in environmental issues, can take part in the award scheme.

On October 21, 2010, the European Commission designated Vitoria-Gasteiz European Green Capital 2012. This award is given in recognition of the work of those cities that:

  • Have demonstrated their compliance with environmental standards on a constant basis.
  • Undertake new, ambitious targets to improve the environment and attain sustainable development.
  • Can act as a model to inspire other cities and promote best practices in all other European cities.

In this way, Vitoria-Gasteiz has become a model of green action and now it has the responsibility of sharing its practices with other cities in order to contribute to the defence of the environment throughout Europe.

This award represents the highest recognition for more than 30 years of environmentally respectful proposals and initiatives and for the cityŽs undertaking to pursue policies in favour of sustainable development. This circumstance, together with the commitment and involvement of its inhabitants, finally led to the city's designation as 2012 Green Capital.

Related information


Your opinion matters to us

Help us improve. Did you find this information helpful?

If you prefer, you can send usyour comments.
You need to login.

Fields marked with an asterisk are required.